About Joint Accreditation

Accreditation of CE Providers for
Medicine, Nursing & Pharmacy

Joint AccreditationTM offers organizations the opportunity to be simultaneously accredited to provide medical, nursing, and pharmacy continuing education activities through a single, unified application process, fee structure, and set of accreditation standards. Joint AccreditationTM is the first and only process in the world offering this benefit.

Joint Accreditation is a collaboration of the

  • Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)
  • Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)
  • American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)

This innovation promotes interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) that leads to improved health care delivery and better patient outcomes. Plus, jointly accredited providers gain an opportunity to learn from a successful model of interprofessional collaborative practice.

What is Interprofessional Continuing Education?

Interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) is when members from two or more professions learn with, from, and about each other to enable effective collaboration and improve health outcomes (ACCME, ACPE, ANCC 2015).

Continuing Education Planned by the
Team for the Team

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), interprofessional education (IPE) is an action that “occurs when students from two or more professions learn about, from, and with each other to enable effective collaboration and improve health outcomes” (WHO, 2010). IPE is designed to address the professional practice gaps of the healthcare team using an educational planning process that reflects input from the professionals who make up the team. The education is designed to change the skills/strategy, performance, or patient outcomes of the healthcare team.

Joint Accreditation enables IPE by aligning the accrediting systems of three global leaders so organizations that choose to develop education for the healthcare team can satisfy all accreditation requirements via a single, unified application process, eligibility criteria, and fee structure.


Rigorous Standards for
Educational Quality & Independence

Jointly accredited continuing education providers must meet rigorous standards for educational quality and independence – including the Standards for Commercial Support: Standards to Ensure Independence in CME ActivitiesSM.  With the joint accreditation initiative, the ACCME, the ACPE, and the ANCC seek to assure the public that healthcare teams receive education that is designed to be independent, free from commercial bias, based on valid content, and effective in improving the quality and safety of care delivered by the team.




Email Joint Accreditation